Find us on Google+

Nepal Public Holidays 2012 Calendar

 

The List below of Nepal Public Holidays 2012, is the official released calendar by the government of Nepal.

In Nepal, Saturday is the weekly day off, and the rest of the week days are working days including Sunday. Since Nepal has turned to a secular State from a Hindu Kingdom, government and public holidays are often observed for either  a specific religion or region. While Nepal public holidays are predominantly Hindu due to the country Hindu majority of 80%, other religious holidays such as Buddhist, Muslim, Sikh and Kirat are also observed.

Here is a List of Nepal Public Holidays 2012 Calendar

 

Maghi Parba – Maghe Sankranti
Sunday, 15 January 2012

Sonam Lhosar – Tamang New Year
Tuesday, 24 January 2012

Sahid Diwash – Martyrs’ Day
Monday, 30 January 2012

Rastraya Prajatantra Dibas – Democracy Day
Sunday, 19 February 2012

Maaha Shivaratri
Monday, 20 February 2012

Gyalpyo Loshar
Wednesday, 22 February 2012

Holi – Phagu Purnima – Basanta Utsav (Kathmandu Valley)(Only Regional)
Wednesday, 7 February 2012

Nari Dibas – International Women’s Day (other)
Thursday, 8 March 2012

Holi – Phagu Purnima – Basanta Utsav (Terai)(Only Regional)
Thursday, 8 March 2012

Ghodejatra (Kathmandu Valley)(Only Regional/Government)
Thursday, 22 March 2012

Ramnawami – Chaitay Dashain
Saturday, 31 March 2012

Mahabir Jayanti
Thursday, 5 April 2012

Bisket Jatra – Nepali New Year
Friday, 13 April 2012

Loktantra Diwas – Democracy Day
Monday, 23 April 2012

May Day – Labour
Tuesday, 1 May 2012

Buddha Jayanti – Buddha Day
Sunday, 6 May 2012

Republic Day
Monday, 28 May 2012

Janai Purnima – Rakshya Bandhan
Thursday, 2 August 2012

Gai Jatra (Kathmandu Valley)(Only Regional)
Friday, 3 August 2012

Shree Krishna Janmasthami
Thursday, 9 August 2012

Gaura Parba
Thursday, 9 August 2012 (Still to be confirmed)

Id-Ul-Fitre (End of Ramadan)
Monday, 20 August 2012

Civil Servants’ Day (Only Government)
Friday, 7 September 2012

Hari Taika – Teej (Only Female Employees)
Tuesday, 18 September 2012

Rhishi Panchami (Only Female Employees)
Thursday, 20 September 2012

Indra Jatra (Kathmandu Valley)( Only Regional)
Saturday, 29 September 2012

Ghatasthapana
Tuesday, 16 October 2012

Dashain Festival (Phulpati/Fulpaati)
Sunday, 21 October 2012
Monday, 22 October 2012
Tuesday, 23 October 2012

Dashain Festival (Vijaya Dashami)
Wednesday, 24 October 2012

Dashain Festival (Ekadashi)( Only Government)
Thursday, 26 October 2012
Friday, 27 October 2012

Ed-Ul-Adha – Id-Ul-Ajah – Bakarid – Feast of Sacrifice – (only Muslim)
Saturday, 27 October 2012

Tihar Festival (Kaag Pooja) (Only Hindu)
Sunday, 11 November 2012

Tihar Festival (Kukur Pooja)(Only Hindu)
Monday, 12 November 2012

Tihar Festival (Laxmi Pooja)
Tuesday, 13 November 2012

Tihar Festival (Gobardhan Pooja – Nepal Sambat New Year)
Wednesday, 14 November 2012

Tihar Festival (Bhai Tika)
Thursday, 15 November 2012

Chhat Festival (only Regional)
Monday, 19 November 2012

Birthday of Guru Nanak Dev Sahib (Only Sikh)
Wednesday, 28 November 2012

Christmas Day
Tuesday, 25 December 2012

Mangshir Dhanya Purnima (only Regional)
Friday, 28 December 2012

Lhosar (only Gurung/Tamu)
Saturday, 29 December 2012



Disclaimer: please note that the calendar of  Nepal public holidays 2012 is official. However, we do not guarantee the accuracy of the above Nepal 2012 calendar.

Wish you a happy and pleasant Nepal Public Holidays 2012 :)

 

 

Some of the world most interesting places

 

You may also check:

Nepla Legal Public Holidays

Nepal Public Holidays 2013 Calendar

Nepal Festivals and Celebrated Events

 


Be Sociable, Share!

written by

The author didn‘t add any Information to his profile yet.
Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


eight + 1 =

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

© Copyright - Holiday and Festival- By HolidayandFestival.com